A Whirlwind.

The past week has been quite a whirlwind. That’s really the only way I can describe it. And the next week is going to be even crazier.

Last Monday, my boss announced the news to everyone. The amount of support that I received from colleagues and superiors made me feel really good about things and even more positive about everything. I also had three fillings done on Monday. Which brings my total I think to 16 cavities. I should really learn how to brush my teeth one of these days.

Thursday was my 25th birthday. I went to dinner with my family (sushi, duh) and shared a scorpion bowl with my mom. My 97 year-old grandma had a few sips as well.

She’s a funny one.

Friday night I went to dinner with my boss and another coworker. More sushi. Stop judging. My boss was thrilled because it was a sushi buffet, and that girl can eat.

Saturday the other side of my family came over for a potluck dinner. Fitting 20 people into my apartment wasn’t easy, but it worked. And that was with five kids running around. I was lucky the downstairs neighbors weren’t home. When I finally let Maeby out of my room to join the party, she literally went to every single person and greeted them by licking their face. I love that dog.

Last night, I drove up to Worcester to meet up with four of my best friends from college. We went to a lovely little Vietnamese place right near campus, and it was really nice. We laughed a lot, caught up, and I’m really hoping they’ll all come visit.

And now the plans for this week:

Today! I coach a high school sport in the fall and tonight we are having our annual banquet. I will be breaking the news to my players and I know they’ll be devastated (as will I), but I’m hoping the wonderful news of the head coach will overshadow mine. Then, after the banquet…Adam is coming home! He flies in tonight, and I’ll be picking him up around 9:30 p.m. I can’t wait to see that boy.

Tuesday. My second to last day of work, followed by drinks with Adam and my coworkers. Adam and I are also hoping we will hear back about this apartment we realllllly want. Maeby wants it too because it has a big fenced in backyard for her to run around in.

Wednesday. My last day of work (wtf) and dinner with my step-sister.

Thursday. Running my annual five-miler in the morning (for the seventh year, I think) and then eating until I fall asleep.

Friday. Lunch with my dad (and Adam and my dad meeting for the first time, yikes), and dinner at Adam’s mom’s house.

Saturday. Pack, pack, packing.

Sunday. Pack, pack, packing.

Monday. The movers are coming and loading up a giant container with my stuff, and I’ll say goodbye to it for two weeks.

Tuesday. Moping around.

Wednesday. Saying “see you later” to Connecticut and getting in my car with Adam and Maeby. Then we’ll begin our 5-6 day trip out to San Diego.

It’s all really crazy. I’m still failing to grasp the enormity of everything. I realize this is a huge thing, but I don’t think I’ll realize how crazy and how big of a deal it is until I’m in my car with Adam and Maeby and we’re just beginning our 3,000 mile journey across country.

Leave a Reply

