Friday Things

So, Wednesday night, I met up with a friend and former teammate from college who happens to be living in the same area as me.  Actually, we share the same zip code and have for months but hadn’t known it until fairly recently.

There was a party at a bar in Hartford, where a ton of local firefighters and police officers were supposed to be.  Um, hello men in uniform, nice to see you.  Except, not.  We got there a little after 9:30 and the bar was pretty empty.  I guess it made sense since it was Wednesday night and all, so we decided to head to some other bars in the area.  The funny thing is, I’ve lived here my whole life and don’t know anything, while my friend has been living in the area for only a little over a year, and yet she knows all the bars and places to go and which nights they have specials.  Did I mention this girl is awesome?

So, instead, we headed to a bar with an awesome special: Spend $6.00 on a tall draft beer, keep the glass, and every refill after is only $1.00.  And, you can bring the glass back for $1.00 drafts every Wednesday after if you want.  It was actually really fun and ended up being really crowded, and naturally, since this is my life, I ran into a ton of people from high school.  Two of which are two years younger than me (hi, I’m officially old), and played on the basketball team when I was the team manager.  After, we met up with my other friend from high school at another bar, where we had a quick drink and then all headed out.  It was a weeknight, after all.

As we walked back to my friend’s car, parked on a sketchy side street near the Hartford bus and train station, my friend noticed a creepy guy and his friends walking towards us and began freaking out, trying to get into her car as soon as possible.  I didn’t really even notice until he called out my name, and then I realized that creepy guy was actually another friend from high school, who is actually not very creepy at all.

As I explained to my friend from college, I know I say that literally anywhere I go, I run into people from high school, but I think Wednesday night proved it to anyone who has any doubts about this reality.

I slacked off yesterday at the gym, biking a mere 7.5 miles and walking one.  But I figured the most important thing is getting out and exercising, especially since Christmas means I will be consuming ridiculous amounts of pecan pie, brownies, and other comfort foods.  Which I’m really excited about.

In keeping with the holiday spirit, I got a manicure yesterday, and it is indeed very festive.

I never knew how I felt about having one nail be a different color but honestly, I’m loving this.  The dark red combined with the pop of the glittery silver make this manicure totally worth the price (HA it was only $12.00, but still).

I also got a nice gift from another friend.  He got me a DVD of Diary of the Dead, also known as probably one of my favorite zombie movies ever.

I realize that I’m a total nerd and this movie got sub-par reviews on Amazon, but I don’t care because I love it.

And finally, to maintain all randomness that is this post, last night I baked a lovely loaf of banana bread.

I followed this recipe.  Super, super easy, and the bread looks and smells amazing.  It’s for the friend who got me the DVD; I know how much he loves banana bread, and he also has a batch of molasses cookies on the way too.

——–

I guess that is about it for now…

Happy Friday!  And for those that have Monday off, enjoy the long weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Things

Leave a Reply

