A Near Perfect Saturday

For the past few months, I’ve been working as an assistant coach at a college about an hour away.  In addition to games a couple nights a week, there are games almost every Saturday.  This means that my Saturdays usually consist of an hour of traveling to and from said college, in addition to any traveling to and from our competitors’ colleges and the two hours for the game.  As a result, it is rare that I have a whole weekend to do whatever I want.

This weekend, we didn’t have a game, so I had the opportunity to do the things I always want to do on Saturdays but never get to.

Today was near perfect.

Today marks the beginning of October.  Fall is my favorite.  And, I got to sleep in, lounge in bed for an excessive amount of time, and I got lunch with a friend I haven’t seen in years.  It was great to catch up with her, and she said some of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me.  She told me that she thinks I’m gonna do big things.  She’s excited for me.  It made me feel good and maybe even got me excited for my future as well.

I don’t know where I’m going or what I’ll be doing, but knowing that someone has that much faith in me in inspiring.

Not to mention that she has inspired a big project that I think I might undertake.  It’d be insightful and interesting, and would help me cross something off my “bucket list.”

The rest of the day consisted of hanging out with the boyfriend, running some errands, and now, I am back at home, enjoying buffalo chicken salad.  This basically means it is a perfect ending (hello, buffalo chicken) to a near perfect day.

Leave a comment