Early Morning Run

There’s something about running early in the morning, before most people are awake.

Yesterday, I got up at the regular workout time of 5:15 a.m., and by 5:30, I was out the door.

I started out taking the same route as I did on Sunday, but a few minutes in, instead of continuing straight on a back road, I took a turn towards a main street.

Usually I don’t run on main streets because I hate having so many people see me look like the hot, sweaty mess that I am.  This is especially true since moving home, because as I’ve mentioned before, I always see someone I know.  Always.  Especially at the most inopportune times.

Anyway, back to yesterday’s run.  I took a turn towards a main road, and seeing how quiet it was (again, no one in their right mind would be out and about at 5:30 a.m., unless it involved coming back from a crazy night out), I decided to stay on this main street.  I continued running along these main roads all the way out to the town center, and then I turned around.

I ended up running 6.8 miles!  Crazy, wild stuff, I know.  I was definitely slower than I was on Sunday, but I am a-okay with that, because this is the furthest I’ve run since the end of February.

The best part about the run was that the whole hour or so I spent running was completely immersed in silence.  It was damp and foggy from the rain the night before.  Few cars were out.  Few people were out walking.  And it was almost completely silent.  It really allowed me to focus on my thoughts and how good I felt, and how good I knew I would feel after completing the run.

As hard as it can be to get up early to work out, I’ve found that I am more motivated to work out at this time than when I had nothing to do and could put working out off to the point that I wouldn’t do it.  It’s also nice to know that I’ve gotten in a great workout before work, and it helps keep me in a good mood all day.

The best part though, is that it helps me work off the candy that I will undoubtedly consume later in the day.  The desk full of candy at work talks to me whenever I get an ache in my sweet tooth or become the slightest bit bored!

Anyway, Happy Thursday everyone!  One more alarm clock til the weekend!  And, it’s a holiday weekend to boot!

2 thoughts on “Early Morning Run

    • Thank you! The most I’ve ever done is 7 miles…I can’t seem to break past that so I’m hoping sometime in the near future! Double digits would be unreal to me.

Leave a Reply

