I Survived the First Day

Well, my first day of work was yesterday, and as you can guess from the title of this post (and the fact that I’m posting at all), I survived.

I got into work in the morning and met with a few different people.  They put me in a room with the developers (aka, nerds, like me), which was nice since the group consists of all people close to my age.

And, not only are they close to my age, but we have similar interests, such as:

1) A love of coffee.  Apparently, not only does America run on Dunkin, but so do the developers.  They make a trip each afternoon and invited me along but I passed, so I don’t become addicted to caffeine.

Well…not yet, anyway.

2)  An appreciation of zombie movies/shows.

It wasn’t long before we began discussing zombie movies and the show I mentioned in the past, The Walking Dead.  We then spent a good amount of time (almost an hour, during lunch) taking a quiz online to see how prepared we would be in case of a zombie apocalypse.  Since we are complete and total nerds geniuses, we passed with flying colors.

3)  Enjoyment of candy.  Immediately after walking into the room where my desk is located, I noticed the desk right next to the door had various kinds of candy on it.  I may or may not have eaten some throughout the day.  I’ll let you decide.

My laptop wasn’t ready today, so I struggled to get through some reading that was supposed to get me up to speed on some of the projects.  I also met to talk about a project I will be starting today.  My laptop is supposed to be ready, so that will be helpful in not only passing the time, but also productivity!

Anyway, I’m off to work now…hope everyone is having a good week so far!

2 thoughts on “I Survived the First Day

  1. I am always impressed by people who say they don’t drink coffee. I don’t have to have it, but it sure is a nice pick-me-up when you’re draggy. Good to know your coworkers have good taste. 🙂

    • Don’t be too impressed! I do have a cup of iced coffee every morning, and it’s the best part of my day. I remember a few years ago when I was an intern and my desk was right next to the kitchen…I was having four cups a day! My coworkers said it was only a matter of time before my caffeine addiction and I get re-acquainted!

Leave a Reply

